Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duluth, Minnesota

Posted 26 Nov 2019 on Orbitz
SPECTACULAR place!!! Sorry I'm not much of a talker. Short and sweet this place exceeds all expectations. Those people that submitted bad reviews are RIDICULOUS. JAY-Z would give this place Excellent reviews and he's a billionaire. 😂
Comment from Hotel Management
26 Nov 2019 by Ralf, Hotel Management
Thank you for your short but pointed review..:-)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dream Residance

Posted 10 Sep 2019 on Hotels
A beautifull silent Romantic Place like in Heaven. Perfect Service.
Comment from Hotel Management
16 Sep 2019 by Ralf, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice words. We are happy that you felt well...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted 25 Jun 2019
We felt very unwelcome there, felt like the owner did not like Filipinos, and he certainly does not like kids from the way that he treated us. Not a family friendly establishment, despite the fact they claim "children are welcome". Furthermore a bit of a hypocrite, there are two dogs on the premise, often hanging around the restaurant and barking at night, yet they have "no pet no service animals" policy... We felt like the owner treats his dogs better than he treated us... will not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
28 Jun 2019 by Ralf, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Karys, This is your second negative comment for you one night stay. You booked 3 rooms for 6 adults and 1 child, but you arrived with 9 adults and 7 children. Another small correction....we have 3 dogs and we treat them very well. They don't bark in the night as they sleep inside our house.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted 23 Jun 2019
If you have children - AVOID THIS PROPERTY LIKE A PLAGUE! When we first checked in we were shown the rooms, they looked very good and high-end, the views were great too. Then i asked about wifi - i was informed that owner does not give wifi password to employees or guests, that i am supposed to give them my laptop or phone and owner will connect the device to wifi...This was very unprofessional, after i pointed that out an employee was able to give me the password. Later we informed employees we booked all available rooms for the next day and that our family will join us - total 7 adults 7 kids including us. We ordered a roll-away bed in one of the rooms to make sure everyone was accommodated, and it appeared we were at an agreement with the resort. When we later spoke with the owner he said "yes i know" in regards to our big family arriving. When our family arrive, of course kids went to use the pool, right away we could feel the tension. Later we over-heard the owner's wife yelling at the employees for allowing so many people to check in, AFTER we had an agreement! That night the owner was sitting at the bar sulking ignoring us completely even after my wife tried to talk to him and say hi... he even scolded my child for pinching flower!!! When we approached the owner about this behaviour he was defensive and said "leave a review". We left one day early... nobody should go through this so PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM HERE. White privileged adults only - should be the name.
Comment from Hotel Management
28 Jun 2019 by Ralf, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Martynas Karys, Thank you for realizing our nice rooms and our amazing views. Unfortunately, you booked 3 rooms for 6 adults and 1 child, but you arrived with 9 adults and 7 Children...no further comment necessary.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted 15 Jun 2019
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted 3 Mar 2019
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted 3 Mar 2019
Great location, peaceful with great access to long walks along the beach. Well maintained property, with clean beach front and public areas. Loved the hammock to read, the outdoor restaurant and super friendly service. Interesting menu with a german twist. The owner was present, friendly and helpful; arranged my day tour of Bohol and a scuba dive outing via a nearby property with certified diving facilities. Only stayed a weekend and would have loved more days to try their snorkeling, kayaking, etc. I hope to be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
3 Mar 2019 by Ralf, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice review. We are happy when our guests are happy. Hope to see you again... Best Regards from the beautiful Anda Ralf
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A dream to relax

Posted 17 Dec 2018 on Hotels
We loved our stay at the J&R Residence. The staff was very friendly, the premises and our room was beautiful, the food delicious. We rented a Kajak and went snorkeling just outside the Residence and it was magical. Highly recommend this place!
Comment from Hotel Management
11 Feb 2019 by Ralf, Hotel Management
Dear Eylin, Thank you for your review. We are always happy, when our guest's are happy. We hope to see you again. Best Regards from the beautiful Anda Ralf
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, USA

Posted 17 Dec 2018 on Orbitz
My husband and I traveled the Philippines for our 25Th wedding anniversary and this was, by far, the best and most beautiful hotel we came across. We wished, we could have stayed a little longer. It's a small paradise, clean, comfortable with friendly and caring staff, directly on the ocean with a clean beach and great food. Don't hesitate to book this place, you won't regret it.
Comment from Hotel Management
11 Feb 2019 by Ralf, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review and we hope to see you at your next wedding anniversary....latest....:-))
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet relaxation

Posted 9 Nov 2018 on Hotels
The J&R Residence is two hours from the airport so we recommend that you arrange for Lando, the very capable, safe and considerate driver from J&R to collect you in their comfortable car. J&R is more of a B&B with a restaurant than a hotel, which reflects the way it has developed. Everything is well maintained and spotlessly clean and the staff are welcoming and friendly. It is a great place to relax for a few days, in peace and quiet. There are other resorts nearby so you can easily get a variety of food and if the tide is not high you can walk to White Beach at Anda along the sand. Either walk back or get a tricycle (an experience in itself on the last part of the road). The rooms are clean and tidy but very basic. No TV (who cares) but no tea making facilities, a tiny wardrobe arrangement and uncomfortable furniture. Don't bother trying to read in bed - the lighting is far too dim. Internet connection is slow. The airconditioning is effective. If you have limited mobility it would be wise to request a room at the top level as all the others have a lot of steep steps with no handrails. The manicured lawns and gardens are inviting and there are shady spots to sit and listen to the waves.